JohannaOak

Mi vida en España

Advent

Publicerad 2017-12-02 16:07:27 i Allmänt,

 
So tomorrow is first of Advent. Craaazy how fast time flies.. Do you like my candlestick? I mean for just grabbing what I could find in my parents basement I think it turned out pretty well. 
 
I thought that Advent was only something we had here in Sweden but as it turns out this is actually a term used in other countries as well (ops..) so I googled a little bit and got this information from Wikipedia <3 : "The term is a version of the Latin word meaning "coming"". Basically we are all waiting for Jesus to be born.
 
Anyway, for those of you that do not use this term around christmas, here's some info for ya: when there are 4 Sundays left until christmas we decore a candlestick with 4 candles, one to be lit every Sunday until we hit Christmas Eve, and tomorrow we will light the first candle. 
 
I remember when I was a kid and all of us sisters where still living under the same roof, we would fight about who woud get to light the candles. Lucky for us we are three sister so at least we got one candle each. Our grandparents also used to give us a calendar with a little gift to open everyday in December until Christmas Eve. My friends would usually get a chocolate calendar and I remember I used to be soo jelous.. Imagine a candy A DAY. Spoilt? Maybe a little.. 
 
Anyway, now I'm gonna go back to my doing not so much and wait for Elise to get home so that I can hang out with her and her baby boy Olle for the rest of the evening <3
 
 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Johanna Egeskog

Välkommen till min blogg kära vänner. Här kommer jag att dela med mig om min vardag i Granada i Spanien. Enjoy!

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela